//
you're reading...
Food, Food - American, Recipe

Chewy Molasses Cookies

You might hear me say this again, but, “These are my favourite cookies!”  I might have just lied, but I don’t know it yet, because right now I believe it.

After two and half years of living in the Netherlands, I haven’t make anything but almond cookies, chocolate chip cookies and cut-outs – not because I don’t love baking.  (Because, I really do love baking.)  And anyone who really knows me, knows I could bake all day; it’s a stress relieving method for me.  The reason I haven’t baked many cookies, or well, anything comparable to what I might’ve done in the states is that my oven is smaller than your average microwave and fidgety at that and imagine only being able to bake, at maximum, 8 cookies at a time!  But, alas, I’ve learned to cope, even though I’ve been asking very nicely for about two years for a new, slightly larger, less fidgety oven, from my husband, sadly, I don’t think it’s happening any day soon.

Finally, the craving for these cookies has overcome my angst towards my teeny oven, and I just went for it.  This recipe is inspired, but modified from Martha Stewart.  And, because I don’t usually stock butter in the house, unless I’m making lasagne, cookies or risotto – well, I just forgot to buy it.  And, doing as my Italian Mother-in-Law, Alberta, replacing the butter with little olive oil(the original recipe calls for 3/4 cup of butter, but you don’t need anywhere near that amount of oil to substitute or your cookies would be greasy frisbees).  Don’t be scared.  I promise that the overwhelmingly strong and pungent flavours of molasses, ginger and cinnamon, when combined, waaaayyy overpower any hint of olive oil that you could ever detect!  Seriously.  I don’t mess around with baking!  And I usually use tons of butter, not to brag or anything.

Chewy Molasses Cookies

2 Cups Flour

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg(preferably freshly grated)

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup molasses

1/2 tsp freshly grated or ground ginger(optional)

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 350′
  2. In a med bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt
  3. With an electric mixer, beat olive oil and dark brown sugar, until combined
  4. Beat in and molasses and ginger
  5. Reduce speed to low, gradually mix in dry ingredients, just until a dough forms
  6. Roll dough into balls, approx 2 tbs, or use a 2 tbs levered ice cream scoop for conformity; the dough is very sticky!  Roll balls in shallow dish with white sugar.
  7. Arrange balls on baking sheets.  Bake one sheet at a time(for optimum cracking).  bake 10 – 12 mins.

This dough is so sticky!  In fact, it bent my levered ice cream scoop – don’t worry, I bent it right back.

20131105-DSCF9780

Ahh, my messy process.  Look at that re-used parchment and that messy bowl of sugar!  Well, folks that’s real baking and I don’t alway set up a wonderful shot.  I won’t apologize. 20131105-DSCF9799

Fresh out of the oven, perfect cracking due to baking only one sheet at a time, in the center of the oven.20131105-DSCF9771

And a closer look.  Yes, they are very chewy and gone in one and a half days.  My husband didn’t care for the ginger, but he’s a picky Italian boy, so don’t listen to him.  Put that ginger in there if you like it!  It’s good for you!  It prevents cancer and helps settle your tummy!  Yadayada – healthy, healthy… or something like that!20131105-DSCF9768

Enjoy!

Cheers!

-Cassie

About Cassie Jones Feliziani

An American photographer and food lover, married to an Italian man and living in the Netherlands with her two little girls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

